Love, carrots, and sticks

Standard

Early in the week I finished The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion by Christopher Germier. It was so refreshing and helpful, a great continuation in a more focused pattern of reading.

“The pain of life is there, but we don’t unnecessarily elaborate on it. We don’t carry it with us everywhere we go”

“Emotional suppression seems to reduce will-power, and lowered glucose may be one reason for it”, which ties back in with this article on decision fatigue.

“We don’t meditate to improve ourselves; we meditate to end our compulsive striving to do everything better”

Have since started reading Drive by Daniel H. Pink, which is interesting but a bit too heavily business-focused.

“Rewards, by their very nature, narrow our focus”

Of  course it’s valuable to think about intrinsic motivation and creativity, and I’m happy to learn about the studies, etc., but I’ve been a little distracted as I read too. May be time for a novel.

Haven’t worked on my thesis in ages, so that needs to be a focus this week. Need to find a new poem to memorize, something about time or space. Any ideas?

2 responses »

  1. Jorie Graham is great… More philosophic than time/spacey but for some reason she jumped to mind with what you wrote here 🙂

  2. Don’t have a poem suggestion just now. But journaling and note taking I am working on being ok with and exploring not knowing, with learning to live and love the questions. It is scary, full of doubt and also exciting, energizing, gives me enthusiasm. Some days takes me a bit to get to this place. Your last couple posts just made me think of these things. Are you working on any short stories? Just curious… xxooxx missing you in so many ways. Momma

Leave a comment